Alcohol-related offenses are some very serious offenses in Michigan. For people who are considered repeat offenders, the use of an ignition interlock on their vehicles might be necessary. These laws place a hard stance on drivers who insist on driving drunk while they have a suspended license or revoked license.
There are several different factors that can mean that you would be considered a repeat offender. If you have had two or more convictions related to alcohol within a period of seven years, you would be considered a repeat offender. The same is true if you have three or more of these convictions in a 10-year period. It is also the case if you have three or more convictions that involve driving while your license is revoked or suspended within a 7-year period, but only if those convictions led to mandatory revocations or suspensions.
Drivers who are considered repeat offenders will face a host of possible penalities related to their driving privileges. One of these is that the vehicles they drive would be required to have an ignition interlock. Another possible penalty is that the repeat offender might have their registration denied and metal license plate confiscated. If these occur, they apply to all ehicles that are leased, co-owned, owned, or co-leased to the repeat offender.
In some cases, a person who is facing charges based on the repeat offender laws can be issued a paper license plate that would allow the vehicle to be driven until the case is resolved. If you are facing charges based on these laws, make sure you understand what options you have to keep your driving privileges.
Source: Michigan Department of State, “Alcohol Related Driving Offenses Require Ignition Interlock,” accessed April 21, 2016