States differ when it comes to the laws in place regarding the divorce process. This is why you should always make sure that you have a good understanding of the laws in the state that you plan to file in. You can’t choose any state to file in based on your preferences – you must first meet the eligibility requirements.
If you are considering filing for a divorce in Michigan, the following are the key laws and regulations that would apply to the process.
What are the eligibility requirements when filing for a divorce in Michigan?
To file for a divorce in Michigan, at least one party must have been residing in the state for a minimum of 180 days. One party must also have resided in the county where the complaint is filed for a minimum of 10 days prior to filing.
Is Michigan a no-fault divorce state?
Some states are considered no-fault, meaning that a divorcing spouse is not required to prove that their partner was to blame for the breakdown of the marriage. Michigan is a no-fault divorce state. This is widely perceived to be beneficial for spouses because it reduces hostility in the divorce process.
What are the grounds for a divorce in Michigan?
You can file for divorce in Michigan on the grounds of an irretrievable breakdown of the marriage. In other words, you should be able to show that the marriage is beyond repair.
If you are thinking about filing for divorce in Michigan, you should start gathering the appropriate information and devising a strong strategy to ensure you get the best possible outcome.